I love my neighborhood.  I love Broad Ripple in general, but I love MY part of BR, called Warfleigh (and pronounced “War-flay”), tremendously.  It’s quirky.  Many different households here; neighbors who have been here for 30 years or more, singles, families with young children, empty nesters.  Yet what I really appreciate is the variety of houses in such a small area – a range of materials, styles, and sizes.

For instance:  there are two Lustron homes in our neighborhood.  If you’ve not heard of a Lustron home, they are prefabricated steel houses, launched in the 1940s.  The parts were shipped to you, with directions, and you built it yourself.  All steel, inside and out, with enamel ceramic on the outside.  Never needed painting.  The catch?  You couldn’t use nails to hang anything – only magnets!  Here are a couple in the ‘hood:

Image

Image

This has the added loveliness of 8 pink flamingos.

Our homes come in a great range of sizes, too, from the tall…

DSC_0444

…to the Small.

DSC_0445

A few more examples of Warfleigh home diversity:

DSC_0465

Those familiar to Broad Ripple:  I KNOW!  Huge, amazing lot!

DSC_0450

This makes me feel as though I should have a nice, dainty cup of tea…..

DSC_0436

This one has been written about in the Indianapolis Star – I’ll dig for that and post the link when I find it.  This is facing the canal, thus the balcony and awning on top.  I guess it’s waterfront property if it’s facing the canal?  🙂  Notice the black wrought-iron spiderweb doors..

If you know what style of homes these are, please feel free to comment and enlighten me.  I’m a fan of historical architecture and would like to learn more.

See you next time, when I’ll post the Details Of Warfleigh — interesting things I’ve noticed in the neighborhood, peeking from landscaping, or on the chimney….you’ll just have to wait and see.

