Actually, it might be more – I’m starting to lose track.  All these big, bulging muscles of mine are distracting my brain and affecting its memory function.  KIDDING.  Seriously, though – I am starting to see some definition in my upper body, which is AWESOME.  I’m still doing weenie knee push-ups, but I can do more than I could a month ago.  I still have to use a box to jump up to the bar for pull-ups, but I can get my chin higher now.  I’m using more than the training bar for split jerks, overhead squats, etc.  Psyched.  I do think my big goal right now is do 10 “real” push-ups and a few pull-ups.  The day that I can do pull-ups….major milestone for me, I’ll be grinning all day.

Bad news:  I have not lost a pound.  I actually joined for the fitness aspect, but kinda sorta hoped a few pounds would disappear.  BUT – good news:  I have GAINED new confidence & toughness.  Example:  yesterday, I went for a RUN.  R-U-N.  I never run.  I hate to run.  It wasn’t a CF day though, and I felt like I should do SOMETHING, so I decided to run, despite the fact that it was 90 degrees and ten kinds of humid outside.  I ran a route through my neighborhood that was just under 2 miles.  Not a long way, I know – but I NEVER RUN.  I didn’t stop or slow down even once.  Heat?  Pfft.  Aching legs?  Please.  After surviving  workouts of the day (WODs) in a gym (box) with no air conditioning, I have discovered I am actually not a dainty little flower.  (*Grin*)

Besides improving my strength & health, CrossFit has taught me how to physically persevere; that no matter how much it hurts or makes me feel like I’m going to puke, I will actually be fine (after I get off the floor).  This is a good lesson to learn.  Who knows what other barriers  – mental or physical – I might break?  It’s going to be fun to see how this plays out in other parts of my life.  I’ll let you know.

Peace, all –

K

