Food for the body is not enough. There must be food for the soul. –Dorothy Day

“How do  you want to be involved in your community this year?”*

This is a topic I’ve been musing for the past couple weeks.  I tend to enjoy the doing, rather than sitting on a board or being on the fundraising committee.  After  reading “Toxic Charity” by Robert D. Lupton, I’m much more interested in educating than in mere giving.  I can narrow it down even further in that my heart leans towards helping families, even more specifically towards children.  I have tutored homeless schoolkids through School on Wheels before, and this is tugging at me again. I wonder where else I can serve?

This question is being asked down the well of my soul, and there seems only to be echoes, no answers.  I often feel that I am doing so little to make the world a better place.  I have friends who are social workers, nurses, teachers of all stripes, or they actively work for nonprofit agencies doing great work for those in need. It concerns me that I spend my 40+ hours a week in marketing, and it has always been in the technology field of some sort.  My current employer counts many not-for profits as customers, and we often discount our services in exchange for acknowledgement from the podium, being part of the corporate logo loop, or being listed in the event program, but that’s just business – more marketing.  My day-to-day seems so far removed from meaningful work.  *Sigh.*  We all want to feel worthy, si?

I’d love to hear suggestions.

*This blog post is part of the SmallBox Thinkkit blog prompts – one per day in the month of December. Want to join us?

